We get questions all the time from couples wanting to know how to go about getting married in Arizona. We’ll give you the details you need, so you’ll have a better idea of the requirements to get married in Arizona.
Getting Married in Arizona
Getting a marriage license in Arizona is a relatively easy and stress-free process for you and your future spouse. Thus, we will give you details on how to obtain a marriage license without too much hassle. We know what you have in mind, “How do I get married in Arizona?” Well, we have a run-down of what you need to know.
Is There a Waiting Period Before You Can Get Married in Arizona?
No! As soon as your marriage license gets approval, you become legally free to love as you want.
For the Best Weather, What Time of the Year is perfect to Get Married in Arizona?
As you may already know, summer in Arizona is hot and dry. Unless you and your bridal party want to be sweaty on the big day, fall and spring are the best times of the year to have a wedding in Arizona. The best month to get married in Arizona is in March. Whether you’re in the city, the mountains, or the desert, fall and spring are the perfect time to have your wedding, which is especially significant if you wish to have an outdoor event.
Get the Best Wedding Venues
Even if you live in Arizona, it can be a challenge finding the best wedding venues, especially if you’re not sure about what you want.
Luckily, Aurora Event Lighting and Rentals has the best wedding venue suggestions in Arizona, as well as other vendor suggestions.
The average wedding cost in Arizona is about $29,000. Thus, with this budget, you’re sure to get yourself a suitable wedding venue.
The Different Areas and Cities to Consider for Your Arizona Wedding
The state of Arizona is the epitome of what you may refer to as the “Wild West.” Because in Arizona, there is something that fits everyone. With rolling deserts to spare, this state is a half country, half city, with Phoenix as one of the booming cities. Tucson is another option you could consider. It has a significant number of venues and beautiful landscapes.
Legal Requirements for an Arizona Wedding
You will need to be over 18 years old or be between ages 16 and 17 years and have a legal consent form from the legal guardians of both parties intending to marry. You must also issue a copy of the government-issued I.D for proof of age. However, if you and your partner are interested in a covenant marriage, you cannot apply for a marriage license.
What is a Common Law Marriage in Arizona?
Arizona does not recognize common-law marriages even though some states in America recognize common-law marriages. A marriage union in common law does not accord you the rights entitled to legally married couples. That is why couples prefer to get a marriage license.
A Marriage License in Arizona – What You Need to Know
Once you and your spouse have decided that marriage is what you desire and you are of legal age, check out the list below on all things marriage license in Arizona.
What You Need to Get a Marriage License in Arizona
To fill out the marriage license application, both parties must present themselves at the local County Clerk’s office. Carry with you a valid I.D such as a military I.D, a passport, driver’s license, or an I.D issued by the state. In addition, have your social security number with you. After you’ve filled out the application, you won’t need to do anything else.
The State of Arizona does not need you to produce a copy of the dissolution of marriage (divorce); you also do not need to do a blood test.
Please note that some rules may be slightly different depending on the county where you’re making the application.
For example, in Maricopa County, they recommend that to make a marriage license application, you need to book an appointment. But in most of the other counties, walk-ins are allowed.
Or, in Pima County, in case of incarceration of one of the spouses, they need to fill out their application and have a copy of the application notarized.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Copy of the Arizona Marriage License?
You can request your local county clerk’s office for a certified copy of your marriage certificate. It costs $30 to get one with a notarized raised seal.
How Does the Marriage License Work?
After the state issues it, a marriage license expires in 12 months. The marriage license is valid when there are two signatures of the parties intending to marry, the signature of the person who officiated the marriage ceremony, and the signatures of two witnesses.
The person that officiated the marriage then mails the last portion of the certificate to the Superior Court’s clerk.
Check out how to obtain a marriage license and the fees involved? Also, contact your local courthouse if your county is not on the list.
Changing Your Name in Arizona
Another big decision you’ll need to make if you’re having your wedding in Arizona is whether you or your partner will change your names after the wedding. If so, you’ll need to decide before you get the marriage license. Thus, the new last name reflects in the marriage license. You can then submit via mail to your Social Security Office.
After this, you’ll need to inform your employer of the name change. You’ll also need to get a new driving license and notify the credit card companies and other relevant authorities of the name change. Visit HitchSwitch if all this sounds overwhelming.
Final Word – Getting Married in Arizona
When getting married in Arizona, you’re going to need some equipment to make sure your special day goes according to plan. Aurora Event Lighting and Rentals offers wedding rentals that can scope your whole wedding event or just a few needed items. Contact our event specialists today to get started planning your wedding hassle-free!